Here we go again……….

So, I’ve been MIA for awhile (thank you Captain Obvious, right?).  What have I been doing, you might (or might not) be asking –

  1. Surgery – I had my capsular release on March 22.  It was painful – extremely painful.  And for the last 5 months, I was thinking it didn’t work.  I still had a lot of pain, still had PT twice per week, and showed little signs of improvement.  But, suddenly this week I realized I actually did feel better. I’m not at full range of motion (yet), but I’ll continue to work on it at home.  As of this week, my doctor was pleased enough to “graduate” me from aftercare and PT.  So, I’m officially on my own.
  2. Uncle – My uncle passed away on Mother’s Day.  Completely unexpected and so devastating for my family – especially for my Mom (he was her triplet brother) and for his oldest daughter.  The blessing in this is that it did get my family talking about things such as Wills, our final wishes, etc.  It also just got our family talking. Period. My uncle was cremated and we had his service the first weekend in July.  It was a beautiful tribute and a lot of family came – cousins I hadn’t seen in over 10-15 years.  We’re making plans to get together more often now.  I really hope we do.
  3. Lifestyle – Weight loss kind of took a back burner while I was recuperating from surgery and it just kind of stayed there.  Until 2 weeks ago.  I started following a Keto lifestyle (high fat/low carb).  The first day was a doozy.  I was lightheaded and felt hungry almost all day ( specifically poor planning on my part).  After that first day, I started feeling better.  I had more energy.  And as time has went on, my pain has become better too.  I’ve even had some days where I felt virtually no pain, other than some soreness.  This has been huge for me because for the past 15 years I’ve lived with pain of some sort.  My body has been riddled with inflammation.  This way of eating definitely has some anti-inflammatory benefits that I am extremely thankful for.

So, that’s me.  What’s been up with you?

Leave a comment